Self Portrait

lone treeSeveral years ago I launched on a journey of intense self-discovery. In order to learn what I needed to heal in my life, I had to start with who I knew myself to be at that point in time. I wrote this poem as a jumping off point. I have grown tremendously since I wrote it in 2008, but many of the things I saw in myself then still ring true with me now.

I am a wise old child,

A flower in an undiscovered meadow,

Alone, yet breathing, living,

Growing wild.

I am an empty vessel

Of wasted, stolen time,

A vessel trying to fill itself

With time that can be mine.

I am a soul with holes

The wind screams fretfully through

A soul seeking a path

To fill itself with Truth.

I am marked, scarred

For the world to see.

It is my shame, it is my badge,

It is a part of me.

I am a story, I don’t know how old,

Of needing, aching, love and loss,

Searching, finding, tearing away,

A story not done being told.

I am a giver, a mother at heart,

Incomplete without another soul

To guide and comfort

As they fill themselves and light their dark.

I am fragile, yet stubborn and brave.

Force me through the depths of Hell—

I assure you my heart will beat stronger,

My soul will be richer.

I am not afraid of pain.

I won’t live in a shell.

I reject cynicism, resentment.

I find some vulnerability serves me very well.

I’m searching for all

That I can be and know;

There are many ways I will find

For myself to grow.

My road is endless,

My sky unbound.

The weights may be back-breaking,

But they will never keep me down.

Paths are but choices,

Not all have been mine,

But those times are passing,

It’s time for me to shine.

–Angie Webster

One thought on “Self Portrait

Leave a Reply

