We are ALL worthy

Image

We are all, each one of us, children of Divine Source. Everything in creation, seen and unseen is also from this same Source, usually called God. (Replace the words I use with whatever word makes you feel comfortable. It doesn’t matter; it is all the same—Universe, Source Energy, Creator, Ultimate, or God/Goddess.) There is not only no reason for us to feel unworthy, but perpetuating feelings of unworthiness is much like denying our divine nature.

I have felt my connection to God and the miraculous since I was a child. Long before I had words to put to the experience, I felt God, angels and spirits flowing around and through me. I did not grow up in a household that attended church. I simply knew. I think this is how we all start out. As children, we understand our true origins and it doesn’t occur to us to question it.

As I got older, I asked more questions about God looking to put words to the internal knowing I felt. I remember the first time I did this. I was about six. I felt that the answers I got were incomplete and even confused. I felt like there was more that we weren’t allowed to talk about or that the adults we denying their own internal knowledge. They were holding back in some way I did not comprehend.

By seven, I sought out my answers by going to church on my own. I rode a church bus to Sunday school at a local church every week. This was the beginning of my learning that some questions are very shocking and others aren’t allowed. Ideas of shame, fear and anger seem to be the prevailing thought pattern in most churches.

Since then, I have attended various different kinds of Christian churches. As an adult, I have read and studied the texts of other religions as well. The realization I keep coming back to is that God is not limited to the definitions and dogmas of any particular religion. I do feel that religion can be and is useful. But we have to be careful not to limit our understanding of God to mere words and their interpretation. God is ultimately beyond our full capacity to comprehend while still in this dimension. God must be more intuited and felt than rationalized into words. Neither science nor religion can fully explain Truth. However, both science and every religious text I have read confirm that Energy is everywhere. Everything is made of it and surrounded by it.

If God is in us, and we are made from God, then we are not unworthy as God’s Children. To act as if we are is to deny the gift of the spark of God we are given. Psalm 82:6 says: I say, ‘You are gods, children of the Most High, all of you.’ What else would you call children of God but gods? We co-create with God flowing through us, into the reality all around us. We are miracles and we are participants in miracles through the energy of God. Yet feelings of unworthiness cause us to deny miracles all the time. We act as though admitting that we are capable of asking for and receiving a miracle is somehow wrong or to be feared.

We ignore our intuition (the voice of God) and resist even asking for the real transformations we seek. Many of us are afraid to even voice that we understand our true connection to Source. It almost seems mandated that we hold ourselves in a small place and call ourselves bad and unworthy. We fill ourselves with guilt for simply existing. But we are God’s children. Source brought us into being. Source is Love. Source is part of everything. It can be denied and ignored, but it remains.

Jesus spoke of this many times in the book of John, including referring to Psalm 82:6 in John 10: 34-38.  In John 14: 9-12, Jesus affirms again that we are all interconnected through God and that we are able to do all that Jesus did—and more. Speaking to Phillip, Jesus said “Have I been with you all this time, Phillip, and you still do not know me? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say ‘Show me the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own; but the Father who dwells in me does his works. Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; but if you do not then believe me because of the works themselves. Very truly I tell you, the one who believes in me will also do the works that I do and, in fact, will do greater works than these.” To me this means learning the things Jesus taught and applying them. I don’t see that as a blind belief that we would be somehow saved through the birth and death of Jesus. I understand that we are to come back to that intuitive “knowing” that we already have Christ consciousness in us from the start. The goal then is to return to it, to resurrect it in us. It is a remembering of our true origin, our divinity. The one we were born with and forgot along the way. This opens us to much more than we are able to see without it. It also allows us to stop condemning and judging ourselves and each other. Our minds and hearts become open and able to see and perform miracles.

In John 14:20, Jesus says “On that day you will know that I am in my Father and you in me and I in you”. This is interconnection! I have heard many interpret this as meaning we will not understand this until we reach Heaven, or until the Apocalypse comes. To me this understanding creates Heaven! Heaven is within, no matter where you are. God is not dependent on time or place. If God is within, we are experiencing God at every moment. We simply lose awareness of this. Reminding ourselves is so important. In remembering this, each one in themselves, we transform the world. We create Heaven on Earth and in all dimensions. The only thing we can do with this understanding is to love ourselves, each other and everything in creation. Love is transformative. It creates miracles.

When we hold ourselves or someone else as unworthy or even as separate, we are denying our essence. We need to remember that the underlying message of every religion is love, forgiveness, compassion and understanding of ourselves. Without fear. In peace. It is what Jesus taught. There is no reason to limit God in our minds and hearts. God is limitless. Christ awareness is in every person. The Divine is in every person. We are all part of God. ALL is in God’s image. ALL are worthy of love. Do not judge. Do not fear. Be at peace.

Leave a Reply

